Why I Dive – a retort to Ccaropenn

Why dive? Why divers dive.

Why do I dive? A good friend and dive buddy of mine just wrote a blog about why he dives and it is quite true and compelling for those that have never dove in the warm waters off Florida and the Caribbean. But for other divers there are many more reasons why they, as do I, dive.

Many Reasons

First, diving tests you. Initially, diving can be quite stressful. I’d say over 50% of people who pay with time and money for an open water scuba certification stop diving within the first year. This is because they never get over the stress of continued learning (after certification). There are several reasons for this – the main reason I suggest is the lack of dive buddies with which to dive. This is a totally bogus reason because all divers enjoy diving and typically the more the merrier. This includes the people that instruct new students – want to dive? Call your dive instructor. He or she is definitely diving soon. After diving several times outside of the training environment a lifelong diver will start to evolve into a true diver. This is a diver that continues to learn, gets advanced certifications, becomes intimately familiar with his/her “lifesaving” gear, begins modifying his rig (dive gear set-up), etc.

Second, diving is akin to therapy. Ask any lifelong diver today if they want a full faced mask with comms and most will walk away from you. One of the biggest benefits of being under water is that no one talks. It’s not like going to a library or a museum where everyone whispers – absolutely no talking underwater. Add to the silence the feeling of weightlessness. Silence and floating – I have actually closed my eyes on drift dives and almost nodded off several times but that interferes with the complete and utter beauty, as Ccaropenn pointed out, that is found under the seas. Silence, weightlessness, and unimaginable beauty make for some good therapy.

Not last but I’ll end it on this reason, lifelong divers make lifelong friends. The only comparison I have to this spirit of friendship is what I found in the military. Ccaropenn pointed this out too but it deserves repeating. Want to dive? Sign up for a trip. If the dive shop you got certified is not setting up trips find another. Google “dive clubs” and you’ll find one in your area. Don’t be worried about not knowing anyone or your skill level. There will be friends there and they have all been at your skill level. This is where you begin to learn to be a life long scuba diver.

This is a short video dedicated to the friends I dove with in Grand Cayman this past September.

2 thoughts on “Why I Dive – a retort to Ccaropenn

  1. I agree with you! Diving is a new experience and gives new life-quality. I started diving last September after quitting relationship with a Turkish diving instructor, who never tried to instruct me. I love it and it makes me feel happy. I’ve got a lot of new friends through diving. Thanks for your post and video! Wish you always pleasant and healthy dives! 🙂

  2. Reblogged this on Karin Schiller und kommentierte:
    Diving is a new experience and gives new life-quality. I started diving last September after quitting relationship with a Turkish diving instructor, who never tried to instruct me. It was the best decision in my life (doing the OWD and also quitting relationship :)) I enjoy, floating and feeling myself hovering in water and hearing the bubbles of my exhalation and it makes me feel happy. I’ve got a lot of new friends now and a lot of new, wonderful underwater experiences. My first time diving in the sea was an incredibly nice experience. Thanks for this post and video! Wish you always pleasant and healthy dives!

Leave a Reply

